WhatsApp, one of the most widely used instant messaging apps, rolled out “Delete for Everyone” feature recently. But do deleted messages really disappear from the phone? A new report claims that WhatsApp messages that are deleted are actually still on the device and can be easily accessed.
Spanish Android blog Android Jefe has claimed that deleted messages are present in the notification log of the device. It adds that the recipient can easily access the deleted messages regardless whether it has been deleted from
sender’s end. “What we found is that the messages are stored in the notification register of the Android system. So, it’s just a matter of entering that record to see the messages that the other person deleted,” the blog said.
This is how you can read the deleted WhatsApp messeges :
- The blog explains that anyone can access deleted WhatsApp messages sent to them via a third-party app named Notification History which can be downloaded via Google Play.
- After downloading the app, users will have to search the message in the Android notification log. Those users who are using third-party launchers like Nova Launcher it’s even easier.
- The notification log can be accessed without the need of an additional app. Long press the home screen, then tap on Widgets > Activities > Settings > Notification log. You can then access the system’s notification log.
- On stock Android, a Settings widget can give access to the notification log as well.
Remember, there are certain limitations to viewing deleted messages. Apart from the fact that only text message can be viewed, the blog post clarifies that just the first 100 characters of message will be visible to users. Also, only messages for which a user has received notification can be seen. Further, the messages are apparently stored for a few hours on the device and are deleted if users restart their device. Finally, doesn’t look like it works for devices running Android versions older than Android 7.0 Nougat.
One of the biggest use cases of the Delete for Everyone feature has been when a user send a message to the wrong chat, or if the message sent contains a mistake. WhatsApp ‘Delete for Everyone’ was one of the highly anticipated
features, simply because it gives users a chance to correct their mistake. It was made available globally earlier this month.It is biggest change to the chat app since blue ticks aka send receipts.